Tweet A 20 For A Good Cause

Normally I don’t write about this sort of thing, but considering that I’m all G’d out (Goldman, Greece, government) and my wife wanted me to tell my readers (yes, all 2 of you) about a cause she’s involved with, I thought I’d spill some virtual ink and write about the Thompson Child and Family Focus.  They’re a local non-profit in the Charlotte area whose mission is to work with children and their families.  Besides their website, you can also find them on Twitter and Facebook.

Thompson started out as an orphanage in 1886.  Today, they have three locations in Charlotte and they work with 9,600 vulnerable children and families each year.  They provide services for children all the way up to 18 years of age, ranging from the Thompson Child Development Center to an array of family services (like this, this and this) as well as psychiatric services.  You can find out what else they do here as well as their affiliations, licenses and accreditations.

You may have seen the #tweeta20 hashtag out on Twitter, especially if you follow or converse with folks in the Charlotte area on a regular basis.  That’s because May 11 is the Thompson Annual Luncheon and 10 tweeps from the local Charlotte area (my wife is one of them) will be running a virtual fundraiser, combining social media and non-profit awareness.  Frankly I think it’s pretty cool to see something like this being done so I hope they get a strong response.  If you want to donate, click here.

Everyone knows with the economy being what it is everyone has had to cut back.  I think and write a lot about what’s going on out there, so I get it.  But given what the folks at Thompson do and who they serve, I wouldn’t have spent the time writing and editing this thing to tell you about it if I didn’t think it was something truly worthy.  It’s the paradox non-profits face: they’re usually in high demand at times when their communities are the most stretched.  So it can make the choice to give or not that much more agonizing.

That’s why I’m not going to beg, plead and cajole.  It’s a personal choice and I’m not here to tell you what to do with your money.

But if you want to “pay it forward,” this would be a great way to do it.

Leave a comment

Filed under About me, Way Forward

Leave a Reply

